06
Jun
08

On the Use of Timeouts

We’re working on our delivery of feedback and timeouts. The goal is to keep the discussion matter of fact, leaving out emotion, lectures, guilt and all the usual things I used to say to naughty kids. I explain the rule and the consequence. If the rule is broken then the consequence happens and in time the consequence does the teaching. This is working well with Otto, which is great since he seems immune to positive feedback.

Otto after whacking his head on a crossbar

Yesterday the kids were eating lunch at the kitchen table. I was out of the room for a minute but I could hear Otto say in a calm voice, “Don’t kick me, Lucy. Dad will put you in a timeout.” So something is working even though it is very early days in this timeout system.

I finished a good book on working with Limits, but I think there’s a hole when it comes to listing those limits. People write “set limits” and give examples but I was wondering if there’s a complete set of rules and limits for a houshold that I can modify. If I can’t find one I’ll have to create one and post it.

0 Responses to “On the Use of Timeouts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

