11
Jun
08

N*E*R*D* are clearly fans of sly and the family stone

I was listening to the N*E*R*D* album, “Fly or Die,” and the song “Maybe” in particular. It is a very good song, a Beatles-meets-funk feel. The bass line hinted at another song that I couldn’t remember. The chord progression seemed the same as an old funk song that I half knew. I remembered the bass line but not the singing or the artist.

After going through my WMP collection and looking on YouTube I finally found the inspiration. It was a Sly and the Family Stone song called “If You Want Me to Stay”. Here is the video for “Maybe” so you can compare.

I am glad that I solved the riddle. YouTube is good for researching songs. I can go to sleep now.

Update: Pharrell wrote about Sly in the New York Times in 2003.

0 Responses to “N*E*R*D* are clearly fans of sly and the family stone”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

