24
Jul
08

My Friend Brendan recommends "night ripper" by girl talk

…and I agree.

I feel guilty at my weak effort at maintaining contact with the people who are important to me. I sometimes do something about it, and each time I meet an old friend I wonder why don’t I do it more often. Last week I met my friend Brendan for the first time in a year.

We went to Dad Watson’s to drink beer. As always it was intense. We both talk fast and change topics to follow an interesting thread. We talk trivia and we face the truth of our situations.

I like to pick his brain. He has knowledge of music and books in areas I know nothing. So I made him write a list of the books he’d want me to read that I wouldn’t read without his prompting. And asked for his suggestions on music that I’d never find but needed to listen to.

I can write about the first item I listened to – Night Ripper by Girl Talk.

The CD is a mashup of rappers (and others) over popular songs. The song changes every few seconds, just long enough for you to play “Name that Tune” races with whoever is in the room. And there are a lot of sampled tunes to name. As I type I recognise Manfred Mann’s Blinded by the Light, The Pixies’ Where is My Mind, a high speed version of Laffy Taffy that sounds like it was done by Devo pre-Whip-It and Weezer’s Say it Ain’t So. Every now and then something really gets into your brain. Phantom Planet’s California is a fine track to rap over. And I’m sure that’s Poly Styrene singing “1 2 3 4” sampled from Oh Bondage Up Yours.

Top notch. 

0 Responses to “My Friend Brendan recommends "night ripper" by girl talk”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

