31
Jul
08

Adult Songs My Kids Like – Fight for your Right by The Beastie Boys

As a teen I was a heavy metal fan, thanks to a friend called Guy Makin. (I remember Guy playing Hawkwind’s Brainstorm all the way up at eleven, but that’s a story for a later song list.) Top of the heap when I was fourteen was Motorhead.

I got annoyed when the Beastie Boys did a song called “No Sleep ’til Brooklyn” which was a ripoff of Motorhead’s “No Sleep ’til Hammersmith” name. And I forgot about the Beasties until Sabotage came along and just leapt out from the TV and whacked me about the head. It was great! Maybe I liked the Beastie Boys after all.

We have this DVD of the most popular videos requested by guest programmers on Rage, the Aussie all night music show. It starts with Fight for your Right. For me it might not be as good as Sabotage, but the kids disagree. Custard pies, kissing, setting fire to things and general hooliganism. What’s not to love!

0 Responses to “Adult Songs My Kids Like – Fight for your Right by The Beastie Boys”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

