31
Jul
08

Adult Songs My Kids Like – Whip It by Devo

In my class at North Sydney Boys was Ian Ball (sometimes known as I-Ball), a transplanted American kid who had a taste for Tom Lehrer and early Devo. He had the big, floppy Human League fringe. I was a transplanted Londoner who knew little of American music and Ian played me a few songs to introduce me to early Devo (e.g. Mongoloid, Are We Not Men) and Tom. Despite his influence I never liked either. But for two albums there (Freedom of Choice and New Traditionalists) they made perfect pop.

My Father liked Devo. This unexpected given he was a hard rocker with occasional arty tendencies. But I realised over time that he likes new influences and can see good music wherever it comes from. He was blown away by Grandmaster Flash’s The Message. I can still hear him explaining the importance of the rhythm of “Don’t push me cause I’m close to the… edge.” So with Devo he liked the mechanical synth-driven pop sound and their ironic lyrics. His instinct was right, The Message is an Old School classic. And Whip It is still a great pop song.
The first time Lucy and Otto heard Whip It they were singing along to the chorus – “Whip it, into shape!” A song has to be good to get instant singalong from a five and three year old.

I still don’t know why they step on a brick.

 

 

2 Responses to “Adult Songs My Kids Like – Whip It by Devo”


  1. September 13, 2008 at 15:07

    Hey Brenty C.

    Heard of Devo 2.0? An actual Disney property, with blessing from Devo.

    http://disneymusic.disney.go.com/albums/devo20.html

    Devo continues to shock and challenge!

    -W

  2. April 28, 2013 at 21:26

    It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web site, which is helpful designed for my knowledge. thanks admin


Leave a Reply

