14
May
09

More Front de Gauche and the 2009 Euro Elections

It is Euro Election time and the Front de Gauche made their way to Montrejeau market this week. I’m still stunned that a French Communist party exists and has seats in government. My French is good enough to get a rough idea what ‘redistribution des richesses’ means.

I’m a little too self-conscious to just walk up and take a photo of them so I got Jean to take a photo of them with me in the foreground. That’s me on on the right of the photo in a Money Mark t-shirt being a wuss.

The most interesting thing to note was that they were offering free wine to those who came up and spoke to them. I am sure that is part of their party platform – Redistribution des Bourgognes.

There’s a serious issue here – rural poverty. We’re unemployed and living cheap but that’s by choice. Farms here are a few hectares and will never produce much revenue. FdG are tapping into this.

2 Responses to “More Front de Gauche and the 2009 Euro Elections”


  1. 1 Krystel
    June 5, 2009 at 11:06

    Well, I’m not a Communist sypmathizer, but I can support redistribution des Bourgognes. 😀 And I must say, I’m shocked you were being such a wuss!

  2. June 5, 2009 at 12:43

    I could have just walked up and taken their photo, but there’s a small risk they’d get offended by foreigners taking their photo because they are quaint. Mind you, a verbal stoush between an American and a Communist would make a much better blog post.


Leave a Reply

