11
Aug
09

14. The Cure – Primary

The further we go, and older we grow, the more we know, the less we show.

“You like The Cure?” she says. “I loved Lovecats!”

I hated Lovecats. This relationship was not going to work.

How girly could you get? Love and Cats. This was such a concise rendition of teen girl cuteness that it was poetry. I’m not going to include a hyperlink to the video.

The Cure were a depressed Goth band with amazing music. Then one day Robert Smith, and I can’t type his name without thinking of that South Park episode with Mecha-Streisand and the Japanese voiceover man going “Rahbert Smith-eh”, anyway Robert Smith decided he wasn’t satisfied with being popular with 20% of teenage girls, he wanted to woo all of them. He wrote Let’s Go To Bed and although they sold a million times times as many records they also lost me as a listener. I would call that a net negative.

When I moved to America I found that nobody had heard of The Cure before the boppy little number that is In Between Days. I was going to be celibate in America. 

Primary is my favourite Cure song. Robert Smith (“Rahbert Smith-eh”) could never create it now, he’d be on some sort of anti-depressant which would smother the part of his brain capable of creating a gem like Primary. The song is the bass line. It is played with open-string octaves (E, A, D) to give the droning sound that drives the song. They use two basses. It took Spinal Tap to beat them (with the three basses in Big Bottom).

 

 

The boys are so young in this video and they wear make up without looking like the clowns of the Lovecats-era. They’re working hard playing this song. You want Goth? Well Goth costs and right here is where you start paying. In blood.

cure

Next: 13. The Clash – London Calling

Previous: 15. Abba – Dancing Queen

5 Responses to “14. The Cure – Primary”


  1. August 22, 2009 at 08:29

    This song makes me want to take a trip back to Dallas and pick up my friend Matt (who was just about my best friend in high school) and drive around the city aimlessly with the windows down and the music up.

  2. September 14, 2010 at 22:13

    I can’t believe you know Primary. You’re way to young for that, Jenna.


Leave a Reply

