14
Aug
09

10. Lush – Ladykillers

Save your breath for someone else and credit me with something more.
When it comes to men like you, I know the score, I’ve heard it all before.

I’ve always been a sucker for heavily distorted guitar with female vocals and I loved bands like Curve, Clouds and Lush. My Bloody Valentine came out a bit earlier and didn’t get the ‘one-syllable’ memo. In Lush, Miki Berenyi played crunchy guitar, sang with a strong London accent and looked great with her big dark eyes and dyed red hair. What’s not to love?

miki

 

Ladykillers was my favourite song of that era. It gets off to an expectant start with Miki’s matter-of-fact singing:

Here we go, hanging out in Camden, drinking with my girlfriends on a Saturday night.

Unlike most songs, I listen to the lyrics. Miki sings like she talks and I can hear what she says. In this case that is a good thing – the lyrics are smart and funny and worth the effort of a listen. I love the sound of the guitar lead with its single notes deep on the fretboard like an old country song.

 

 

The video isn’t my favourite. It flashes away, trying to induce epilepsy. Miki rolls her eyes to match her put-down lyrics and the cutting is so choppy that I lose focus on the images and see just flashing colours. Maybe that was the director’s intention?

On a sad note, this is one of two songs in my top 10 where the band lost a member to suicide. Drummer Chris Acland hanged himself after they released this album. Unlike the band at number three, Lush broke up since they couldn’t see themselves continuing without Chris.

lush

Next: 9. Faith No More – Everything’s Ruined

Previous: 11. Depeche Mode – Enjoy the Silence

Leave a Reply

